Classic Summer Grilled Drumsticks

Sometimes the simple classics are tough to beat.  Sometimes the only thing I want to throw on the grill is a pile of chicken drumsticks. Drumsticks look beautiful, are fun to eat and taste delicious.  It doesn’t hurt that they are also budget friendly.

IMG_0255My trick for grilling chicken is a simple brine.

  • 1 quart water
  • 1/3 cup salt
  • 2/3 cup sugar

The chicken gets brined for a minimum of four hours.  These drumsticks brined for 12 hours and were exploding with juices after grilling.

The chicken got dusted with a little dry rub then grilled over direct medium heat with GrillGrate panels.

IMG_0244I turned the chicken about every 15 minutes and ended up getting pretty nice grill marks.

IMG_0250After 40 minutes the drumsticks were painted with a little Sweet Baby Ray’s bbq sauce and grilled 5 more minutes as the sauce set.

Nothing fancy. Just plain and simple grilling.

It helped turn a crappy day at work into a great evening at home.  Yep, it made me happy.

Peace.

IMG_0255

8 thoughts on “Classic Summer Grilled Drumsticks

  1. They look great! And if you don’t mind, I have a question on your brining. Do you rinse off the chicken when you pull it out of the brine before you cook it? I have brined chicken a couple of times, and each time the chicken had too much of a salty taste to it. I did not rinse the chicken after the brine, or maybe I didn’t have the correct ratio in my brine.

    Like

  2. Hey David. Wanted to let you know I grilled some drumsticks tonight using your techniques above. They were the best drumsticks I’ve ever made. I brined them in your recommended solution for about 3 hours, then rinsed them off thoroughly (learned my lesson!), then let them rest for an hour or so in the fridge. I added a dry rub (mix of paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, pepper, dried oregano and thyme, and then a dash of cayenne pepper) right before grilling. I let them grill over medium heat for roughly 35 minutes and turned every 5-10 minutes. They were excellent, and even as much for my wife to notice and asked me where I learned how to grill drum sticks! Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

