Low and Slow Baby Back Ribs

ribs with glazeBaby back ribs cooking on a Weber kettle….it’s one of those things that makes me really happy.

This was a pretty simple cook.  I took the membrane off of two racks of ribs, rubbed them down with Bone Sucking Sauce Seasoning and slow smoked them on a Weber kettle with indirect low heat for five hours.

Ribs on Weber Kettle I was using Pecan and Hickory for smoke.  The bottom vents were about 75% closed, top vent fully open.  This had the dome temperature running about 300F (around 275F at the grill grate).  After two hours I started basting with a little apple juice.

ribs at three hoursAt about 4 hours the ribs were painted with Sweet Baby Ray barbecue sauce.  At five hours the meat had really pulled away from the bone and a toothpick slid easily through the meat.  Done.

Finished Weber kettle ribs Nice smoke, pretty color, great balance of flavors.  Good stuff.

Peace.

4 thoughts on “Low and Slow Baby Back Ribs

  1. I love the idea of basting with apple juice. If you follow my blog, you’ll know that we just acquired a butt-load of wild pork. I’m gonna try your technique on the racks of ribs that fill my freezers. Any suggestions on the leaner ribs that I’ll be working with?

    Like

    • Lean ribs are a tough proposition. To be honest I would probably season them up with salt and pepper and hit them with heavy smoke for a few hours. I wouldn’t even try to make them fall off the bone tender, etc. I would slice them up and use them as seasoning meat in a pot of collard greens or bean soup.

      Congratulations again on the awesome hunt!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

