Z Grills vs Rec Tec

I have been diving deep into the world of pellet grills and learning a lot along the way.

My first pellet grill was a budget friendly Z Grills and I loved using it. However, after I got on the Facebook groups and various bbq forums I started getting envious and wanting a higher end pellet grill like a Yoder or a Rec Tec.

I eventually found a Rec Tec RT 340 for sale at a great price and snapped it up. It was fun having two very different styles of pellet grill on my deck!

There were a lot of things that I loved about the Rec Tec. The styling was gorgeous, I loved the precision of the PID controller and the WiFi connectivity was cool as heck. At first I also loved the ability of the Rec Tec to get up to 550F and do some serious steak searing.

But then I discovered something I really disliked about the Rec Tec….the shutdown cycle. The shutdown cycle on the Rec Tec adds pellets into the fire pot after a five minute blown down period. Usually this isn’t a problem but sometimes it was creating smoldering fires in my grill long after it had been shut down.

Here is my video that shows the issue in greater detail.

I ended up getting rid of the Rec Tec because of the shutdown cycle and it was, in comparison to my Z Grills, a pain to clean.

Z Grills is going to be coming out with a PID controlled grill this year. I don’t think it will have WiFi but I am excited to try it out.

Peace!

Leave a comment